KodaiKanal – The Switzerland of South

So it has been long time since I made a journey. Earlier when I was in my bachelor days, a journey decision always comes within minutes.But I have a company , my better half. So all trips has to be planned for us not me alone. That simply means visit more romantic places than dense forests 🙂 .My best buddies Bharath and Sreekanth has decided to gift my marriage with a special journey. What else is a perfect gift for a man with a travelling soul.Due to heavy office works that got postponed long and long. At last we have decided to travel on the month of Jan.Me and my dear to the Switzerland of South.

On one Friday evening we packed ourselves and got into the bus from Chennai to Kodaikanal. The bus was almost empty with some 8 passengers including us. Since it was SRM we never got feared as they were one of the trusted bus operators in South India. I was almost wake up for the whole night.My body was vying to feel the chillness of Kodai on the other hand my dear was sleeping as she has never slept in years 🙂 . I almost felt Kodai when the bus started to the hair pin bends.In my mind I was counting the curves,but always lost the count in between and started from the first again and again.When my watch ticked 5.20am, the bus stopped. The cleaner guy told ‘Sir Kodaikanal, last stop’. I jumped up and took my bag. My dear was still on half sleep.She also got ready and we got out of the bus. Shhhhkkkkk…..the cold breeze went through my tightly zipped Jacket..My dear started shivering hardly.I hugged her tightly. We went to the near by hotel lobby to wait for the cab to come and pick us. And you know one thing.Its always beautiful to hug someone whom you love in the midst of bone breaking chillness. Within some minutes the cab came to pick us. It was too freezy outside. I was actually loving it. Many times in my life I felt I have partiality towards cold. Let it be cold water or freezer items I always preferred them over hot.

We reached the hotel (Apple Valley Resorts) in some fifteen minutes. After some initial hiccups, we have allotted honey moon suite.We went into the room. It was really good one. Clean and tidy.I always believe that the stay of your journey has a big role in making your travel a sweet or bitter experience.I used to sleep in dense forests in times.That times I prefer to stay near some small ponds rather than some tree tops.Like that let it be any place, the staying/sleeping place is always important for me.

Once we entered the room, we just checked everything and then opened the balcony door,,ohh man it was awesome…Time was just past 6 …Sun was on its grand arrival making everything it touches looks beautiful than any other time of the day and we are seeing the below view from our balcony. It was such wonderful that my dear got jumped up and I suddenly ran to pick up my weapon..Canon 550D…and turned to manual…chkk chkk chkk.. Clicks Clicks n Clicks

After sometime we went for a power nap. The driver was supposed to come by 9 am. So we slept for sometime and then got ready. Getting bath in hot water is awesome as you feel the sheer cold once you stop pouring hot water and comes into normal temperature.We got ready quickly and then went to the hotel restaurant to have breakfast. The breakfast disappointed us. Not that good. But still I didn’t cared much as my brain was thinking about the amazing visuals which is about to come to us on the day. The driver came on time and we started.

Our first destination was Bejiram Lake that was deep inside a forest. Don’t think that we have to trek to reach there. Roads are well built and you can reach their in your vehicle itself. It is the lake which provides fresh water to the entire Kodai so the visitors are not even allowed to touch the water. When I saw the lake I felt thirsty but controlled with Aquafina 🙂 .We have to walk some distance to reach the lake and it was really good to sit on the banks. We enjoyed the pin drop silence for sometime since a group came and started making noises. Then we moved to our photo sessions.Canon’s timer was our companion to take our pictures.We took some pictures.. I call them stylish don’t know what viewers call it.

Our Darwin’s ancestors were there all over the way and I cannot stop clicking a pic of them even though they are common everywhere. Sometimes common things are the most precious things.Just clicked some good pictures of them. You don’t know when you are going to get a nice picture.My dear was seeing monkeys in this amount for the first time.She just got scared.The second day stories  have much to tell about that 🙂 . On the way to Bejiram lake the cab driver stopped at lot of view points. You are nearly 2500ft above the sea level and where ever you look it will be filled with foggy snow. The view were so beautiful. My cam was relentless in clicking. There is a quote about the photographers…No matter how many times you click the same object, you wont get satisfied. The same goes with me. When I saw some sights they were mind blowing..simply wonderful. You will feel that your mind getting completed. The heavy feeling will fade away. Nature always keeps the secrets for us. Nearly six years back when I visited there I have never known that these kind of places/views is there in Kodai. Just came n went . But God has destined me to the see place in another way. With a beautiful lady, Wonderful camera and the best visuals he has placed for me.

While roaming around places,the test happened for us. The vehicle got jammed up ..Frankly to say it was such a pathetic driving from the guy. He was treating the vehicle with no sense at all. And we waited nearly for an hour or so for another cab to come to pick us. This is where you need to be patient enough to deal when you better half’s patience goes out of place :). But still she was with me laying on my shoulder. That is kind of really beautiful when the girl you love the most just lays on your shoulder and foggy snows comes around you…Cinematic…!!!!!!!!! I felt it … Then once the cab he somehow dropped us in Kodai Junction.

Time was almost 4 PM and its time for a walk or a boating.. Yupiee… The Kodai Lake is nearby and we almost reached there. Hired a boat and guy to row. First I thought of taking a self pedal boat but the safety concerns from my dear and the very basic fact that both of us didn’t even know anything about Michael Phelps or swimming made me to switch to a assisted row boat. It was purely awesome. Imagine you in a boat in an evening with your partner with sun setting on side and the snow just comes around the surface of the lake…It was so beautiful….You have to experience it to know it … Thats why the quote.. Best things needs to be experienced.

Not my pic

Leave a comment